Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

wilson_asdf
Starting Member

Australia
2 Posts

Posted - 28/07/2006 :  12:02:00  Show Profile
Hi All,

I am still a newbie on using 3D studio max software, as well as MaxScript. And I have this problem: Given that I have a model of a person, and I would like to capture that model from different point of view, i.e. by rotating the camera 360 degrees, I would like to save its view of the model into ##.jpg files. But I am not sure how I can do it in MaxScript. As my later task is: I have a dozen models, and each model I wish to be able to generate at leasts 20-30 jpg (image) files.

In short, my problem would simply be written as:
1. First, I need to know how to rotate 360 degrees of my current camera in 3D view with respect to the object (model)
2. Next, is how to capture (automatic render) the current view of the object and save it as a jpg file.

Does anyone have a clue? Please advice. I really appreciate for the help

Thank you,
Wilson

wilson_asdf
Starting Member

Australia
2 Posts

Posted - 30/07/2006 :  08:41:25  Show Profile
Hi All,

First of all, I have managed to write a script to solve my initial problem. But now I have one question, regarding the creation of a camera. Basically I wrote a sript that does the following tasks:
1. It will read a directory name as an input, and load all the *.max objects.
2. I then group all the objects together into Group01
3. Next I create a camera (from the current view) ??? the position is hard-corded
4. and then rotate the Group01 using eulerangles method
5. Render and save it

From the script above I get the expected results, which is good, but I only have another question to complete the automation of my script, i.e. I hard coded my camera's position on the script (at the step 3 above). The following are portion of the codes

cam = targetCamera showCone:True target:(targetObject pos:[-0.03687,-0.677,0.517])
$Camera01.pos = [-0.085,-1.791,0.816]